Winner of the Irene Tilenius Bloom Prize for Summer 2017

This year's Irene Tilenius Bloom Prize is awarded to Doha Tazi Hemida, a senior in the Middle East track.

Doha Tazi Hemida: I am a rising senior at Barnard, double majoring in MESAAS and Religion.

My project this summer is a political and religious history of the early Mughal empire, more particularly, it is an examination of the relationships between the Sufi-legal paradigmatic model of Islamic governance, as formulated by thinkers such as al-Ghazali and Tusi, and the Mughal political philosophy as such. In what ways did this Sufi-legal model enable positive encounters between the Islamic and Hindu traditions in the Indic subcontinent under Mughal rule in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries?

This research will try to navigate through the relationships between the often overlapping discursive realms of the executive dynastic power, the legislative community of scholars and the mystical saints. It will help me explore both the Islamic and Hindu traditions which are getting politicized and stereotyped from the centers of power in a globalizing world.

The Irene Tilenius Bloom Prize was established in 2013 in honor of Professor Irene Bloom (d. 2010), who was a much-beloved Professor (from 1984) and Chair (from 1994) of the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Cultures, until her retirement in 2002.  She taught in the field of Chinese Philosophical and Political Thought, with a specialization on the ancient Confucian philosopher  Mencius.  She also taught a popular course on Human Rights in East Asia.